Matthew McConaughey, an Oscar frontrunner for Dallas Buyers Club, will collect the 25th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival’s (PSIFF) Desert Palm Achievement Award on January 4 2014.

“Matthew McConaughey is the rare actor who effortlessly moves between cinematic genres,” said PSIFF chairman Harold Matzner. “From drama to thrillers to romantic comedies, he captivates audiences with the depth and range of his performances.”

Previous recipients of the Desert Palm Achievement Award include Jeff Bridges, Bradley Cooper, Daniel Day-Lewis, Colin Firth, Jake Gyllenhaal, Sean Penn and Brad Pitt

The festival is scheduled to run from January 3-14 2014.