The European Film Academy is inviting people to vote for its annual People’s Choice Award, with the chance to win an invitation to the European Film Awards ceremony on 4 December in Tallinn, Estonia.

Past winners of the award have included Pedro Almodóvar’s Volver, Roberto Benigni’s La Vite E Bella, Jean-Pierre Jeunet’s Amelie and Danny Boyle’s Slumdog Millionaire.

The competition opens on 1 September, when the public will be able to cast their vote on the official

The nominated films are:

Alejandro Amenábar’s Agora

Giuseppe Tornatore’s Baaria

Lone Scherfig’s An Education

Daniel Alfredson’s The Girl Who Played With Fire

Roman Polanski’s The Ghost

Matthew Vaughn’s Kick Ass

Ferzan Ozpetek’s Mine Vaganti

Jaco van Dormael’s Mr Nobody

Laurent Tirard’s Little Nicholas

Fatih Akin’s Soul Kitchen