Carlos Reygadas' Silent Light from Mexico has won the 43rd Chicago International Film Festival's most prestigious award, the Gold Hugo.

The Silver Hugo special jury prize went to Wang Quanan's Chinese entry Tuya's Marriage, and the Silver Hugo Award for direction was presented to Roy Andersson's Swedish film You, The Living.

The Silver Hugo Award for best actor went to Sam Riley for his performance as the late Joy Division singer Ian Curtis in UK film Control, while corresponding actress honours went to Yu Nan for Tuya's Marriage for her turn as a woman in crisis.

Elsewhere, the Silver Hugo Award for best screenplay went to Matt Greenhalgh for Control, and the Silver Plaque was awarded to Chico Teixeira for Brazilian entry Alice's House (Brazil).

The Main Feature Film jurors were Rudi Dolezal (Austria), Mike Goodridge (UK), Udo Kier (Germany), Juri Menzel (Czech Republic), Claude Nouchi (France), and Maryse Sistach (Mexico).

In the New Directors Competition, Saverio Costanzo received the Gold Hugo for Italy's In Memory Of Myself and Philippe Barcinski took the Silver Hugo for Brazil's Not By Chance.

The New Directors Jury included Bill Stamets (US), Elizabeth Donius (US), Phillip Bergson (UK) and Ron Falzone (US).

In the Documentary Competition, the Gold Hugo for best documentary went to Alex Gibney's US film Taxi To The Dark Side and the Silver Hugo was awarded to Brett Morgen's 2007 Sundance opener Chicago 10.

The Gold Plaque in direction went to Darryl Roberts' America The Beautiful (US), the Gold Plaque in photography to by Jiska Rickels' 4 Elements (Netherlands), and the Special Jury Prize (Silver Plaque) to Nina Davenport's Operation Filmmaker (US) and Esther Robinson's A Walk Into The Sea (US).

Documentary jurors were Clayton Brown (Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois), Peter Gilbert (Kartemquin Films, Chicago) and Lisa Nesselson (Variety, France).

Short Film Competition winners were Virginia Gilbert, who took the Gold Hugo for best short film for Hesitation (France/UK), and Mikkel Munch-Falls for Partus (Denmark) and Graham Drysdale for Stuck (Scotland), who shared the Silver Hugo.

The Gold Plaque went to 27,000 Days (US) by Naveen Singhi, and the Silver Plaque to Train Town (US) by Keith Bearden.

In the animated Short Film Competition, the Silver Hugo went to Everything Will Be OK (US) by Don Hertzfeld and For the Love of God (UK) by Joe Tucker.

The Gold Plaque was awarded to Osbert Parker's UK film Yours Truly and the Silver Plaque to Claude Cloutier's Canadian entry Sleeping Betty.

The Experimental Short Film Competition winner was Melanie Shatzky and Brian M Cassidy, who took the Gold Plaque for The Delaware Project (Canada).

In the Documentary Short Film Competition the Gold Plaque went to The Ladies (US) by Christina Voros.

The Short Film Jury includes Steve Prokopy (, Chicago), Justine Nagan (Kartemquin Films, Chicago), and Mike Gibisser (film-maker, Chicago).

The Chicago Award was presented to US film Terra Incognita by Maria Finitzo.

The Audience Choice Award will be announced immediately following the completion of the festival on Oct 17.

Special tributes were as follows: Roger Ebert received a Gold Hugo, Lifetime Achievement Award - in fact the entire 2007 Festival is dedicated to the film critic. John Cusack collected a Silver Hugo Career Achievement Award, and Jeffrey Wright received a Silver Hugo, Career Achievement Award.

The festival ran from Oct 4-17. For further details visit