Richard Edlund will receive the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Presidents Award at the 22nd Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards in Los Angeles on Jan 26.

Edlund earned four Academy Awards for his visual effects work on Star Wars (1977), The Empire Strikes Back (1980), Raiders Of The Lost Ark (1981) and Return Of The Jedi, and six further nominations.

His credits include Poltergeist, Die Hard and Aliens 3. Earlier this year he received the Academy Of Motion Picture Arts And Sciences' John A Bonner Medal Of Commendation.

'Richard Edlund has made an indelible impression on the art and craft of film-making,' chairman of the ASC's awards committee Russ Alsobrook said. 'He is an innovative artist who has created magical visual effects for many memorable motion pictures.'