Robert Elswit won top honours in the 22nd Annual American Society Of Cinematographers' (ASC) Outstanding Achievement Awards for feature film for There Will Be Blood on Saturday [Jan 26].

Elswit beat out Roger Deakins for The Assassination Of Jesse James By The Coward Robert Ford and No Country For Old Men, Janusz Kaminski for The Diving Bell And The Butterfly and Seamus McGarvey for Atonement.

The ASC Board Of Governors Award went to Annette Bening 'in recognition of her artistry in front of the lens and contributions to film-making.'

The ASC Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Stephen H Burum, the ASC International Award went to Walter Lassally, and the ASC Presidents Award went to visual effects guru Richard Edlund.

Vilmos Zsigmond presented the ASC Laszlo Kovacs Heritage Award in memory of his longtime friend to Andrew M Davis of Chapman University and Sean Stiegemeier from the American Film Institute.