Foundation president Samuel Goldwyn Jr revealed the names of contenders for the 2011 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards on Tuesday (20).

The five finallists each submitted feature-length screenplays and were chosen from more than 250 submissions from eight University Of California campuses. 

They are: Amy Aniobi (UCLA) for Blame; Candy Devin (UCLA) for Wendigo; Georgia Lin (UCLA) for The Long Short Drop; Cameron Lund (UCSB) for Practice Makes Perfect; and Robin Morton (UCLA) for Reckoning.

This year’s judges are producer and 2010 Oscar nominee David Hoberman, five-time Oscar nominee Paul Mazursky and writer-producer and former Goldwyn Award winner Melanie Marnich.

The $15,000 first prize, $7,500 second prize, $4,000 third prize and $2,000 and $1,000 honourable mentions will be awarded on Nov 2 at UCLA.