The San Sebastian Film Festival has unveiled the 14 films in its Zabaltegi-New Directors section.

The section, with a Euros 90,000 prize to be shared between the director and the Spanish distributor, is devoted to film-makers presenting first or second films not previously screened at any other international competition. (Official Selection films not in Zabaltegi are also eligible for the award if they meet the criteria.)

Two directors are in the section for the second time: Gabriel Velázquez, previously with Sud Express and now with Amateurs; and Fien Troch, previously with Someone Else's Happiness and now with Unspoken.

Past film-makers in the section include Olivier Assayas, Isabel Coixet, Tsai Ming Liang, Walter Salles and Jonathan Glazer.

The 14 films selected for 2008 are:
Amateurs, dir: Gabriel Velázquez (Spain)
Lovely Loneliness (Amorosa Soledad), dirs: Martin Carranza, Victoria Galardi (Argentina)
Letters From Death Row (Ba Bai Bang), dir: Kevin Feng Ke (China-US)
Blood Brothers (Bloedbroeders), dir: Arno Dierickx (Netherlands)
Ordinary Boys (Chicos Normales), dir: Daniel Hernandez (Spain)
Insignificant Things (Cosas Insignificantes), dir: Andrea Martinez Crowther (Mexico-Spain)
Derrière Moi, dir: Rafaël Ouellet (Canada)
Noise (Entre Os Dedos), dirs: Tiago Guedes, Frederico Serra (Portugal-Brazil)
The Firm Land, dir: Chapour Haghighat (Iran-France-India)
The Equation Of Love And Death (Li Mi De Cai Xiang), dir: Cao Baoping (China-Hong Kong)
Passion, dir: Ryusuke Hamaguchi (Japan)
Thomas, dir: Miika Soini (Finland)
El Truco Del Manco, dir: Santiago Zannou (Spain)
Unspoken (Le Non Dit), dir: Fien Troch (Belgium-The Netherlands)

Other Official Selection Films Eligible For The Altadis-New Directors Award
Frozen River, dir: Courtney Hunt (US)
My Prison Yard (El Patio De Mi Carcel), dir: Belen Macias (Spain)