The World Soundtrack Academy has announced the list of nominees for the 2010 Awards.

The awards will be presented in three categories: film composer of the year, best original score of the year and best original song written directly for a film.

The names of the winners will be announced at the World Soundtrack Awards 10th Anniversary Gala on October 23, the closing night of the Ghent International Film Festival.

The nominees the World Soundtrack Awards 2010:

Film composer of the year:

• Alexandre Desplat – Fantastic Mr Fox, New Moon, Julie &Julia, The Ghost Writer;

• Hans Zimmer – Sherlock Holmes, Despicable Me, It’s Complicated;

• Danny Elfman – Alice in Wonderland, The Wolfman;

• John Powell – Green Zone, How To Train Your Dragon, Ice Age: Dawn Of The Dinosaurs, Knight & Day;

• Carter Burwell – The Blind Side, A Serious Man, Where the Wild Things Are, Howl, The Kids Are All Right.

Best original film score of the year:

Fantastic Mr Fox – Alexandre Desplat;

Avatar– James Horner;

Where the Wild Things Are – Carter Burwell and Karen Orzolek;

A Single Man – Abel Korzeniowski;

Sherlock Holmes – Hans Zimmer.

Best original song written directly for a film:
Almost There from The Princess And The Frog
Music & lyrics by Randy Newman
Performed by Anika Noni Rose;

I See You from Avatar
Music by James Horner & Simon Franglen
Lyrics by James Horner, Simon Franglen, Kuk Harrell
Performed by Leona Lewis;

I Want To Come Home from Everybody’s Fine
Music & lyrics by Paul McCartney
Performed by Paul McCartney;

Sticks & Stones from How To Train Your Dragon
Music & lyrics by Jon Birgisson
Performed by Jonsi;

The Weary Kind from Crazy Heart
Music & lyrics by Ryan Bingham & T-Bone Burnett
Performed by Ryan Bingham (and Jeff Bridges).

At the end of August, the Academy board will announce the five nominees for the category Discovery Of The Year 2010.