Terribly Happy directed by Henrik Ruben Genz was the main winner at the 61st edition of the Bodil Awards in Copenhagen on March 1, taking five awards including best Danish film.

Terribly Happy also won best actor, actress, and actor in a supporting role while Jørgen Johansson won best director of photography for both Terribly Happy and Flame and Citron.

The awards are bestowed by the Danish Film Critics Association and are considered the most prestigious film awards in Denmark.

Black comedy Terribly Happy was a Nordisk release produced by Fine & Mellow and is based on the novel of the same name by Erling Jepsen.

Having enjoyed critical and public acclaim with Terribly Happy Henrik Ruben Genz is currently planning his next, as yet unnamed project, again based on a story by Erling Jepsen.

Two non-local films were honoured at the awards with Paul Thomas Anderson'sThere Will Be Blood taking best American film while Swedish filmLet The Right One In/Låt Den Rätte Komma In by Tomas Alfredson was named best foreign film (other than USA).

Jakob Cedergren, who picked up best actor for Terribly Happy is set to star in the next Sally Potter film, Rage, and the upcoming Thomas Vinterberg film Submarino.

Danish director Jørgen Leth was awarded the Honorary Bodil for his lifelong work comprising more than 40 films and including Five Obstructions which he co-directed with Lars von Trier.

Bodil Awards 2009:

Best Danish film Terribly Happy, directed by Henrik Ruben Genz

Best actress Lene Maria Christensen in Terribly Happy

Best actor Jakob Cedergren in Terribly Happy

Best supporting actress Sarah Boberg in World's Apart

Best supporting actor Kim Bodnia in Terribly Happy

Best American film There Will Be Blood by Paul Thomas Anderson

Best foreign film (other than USA) Let The Right One In/Låt Den Rätte Komma Inby Tomas Alfredson (Sweden)

Best director of photography Jørgen Johansson for Flame and Citronand Terribly Happy

Best documentary film Burma VJ - Reporter From a Closed Country by Anders Østergaard

Honorary Bodil Jørgen Leth

Special Bodil Composer Kåre Bjerkø for the scores for What No One Knows, Terribly Happy, and Little Soldier.