The Hurt Lockerclaimed the two top honours from the Los Angeles Film Critics Association as president Brent Simon and the group awarded it with the best film prize and the best director award for Kathryn Bigelow.

Jeff Bridges won best actor for Crazy Heartand Seraphine’s Yolande Moreau was voted best actress, while Mo’Nique from Precious and Inglourious Basterds’ Christoph Waltz took supporting actor honours.

Summer Hours and Fantastic Mr Fox earned the foreign-language and animated awards, with the documentary/non-fiction prize ending in a tie between The Beaches Of Agnes and The Cove.

The 35th annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards ceremony will take place on January 16. The awards will be dedicated to the French New Wave in commemoration of its 50th anniversary.

As previously announced, Jean-Paul Belmondo will receive the 2009 Career Achievement Award.

Picture: The Hurt Locker
Runner-up: Up in the Air

Director: Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker
Runner-up: Michael Haneke, The White Ribbon

Actress: Yolande Moreau, Seraphine
Runner-up: Carey Mulligan, An Education

Actor: Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart
Runner-up: Colin Firth, A Single Man

Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique, Precious
Runner-up: Anna Kendrick, Up In The Air

Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds
Runner-up: Peter Capaldi, In The Loop

Animation: Fantastic Mr Fox
Runner-up: Up

Foreign Language Film: Summer Hours
Runner-up: The White Ribbon

Screenplay: Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner, Up In The Air
Runner-up: Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci and Tony Roche, In The Loop

Music/Score: T-Bone Burnett and Stephen Bruton, Crazy Heart
Runner-up: Alexandre Desplat, Fantastic Mr Fox

Production Design: Philip Ivey, District 9
Runner-up: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg, Avatar

Cinematography: Christian Berger, The White Ribbon
Runner-up: Barry Ackroyd, The Hurt Locker

Documentary/Non-Fiction Film: Tie between The Beaches Of Agnes and The Cove

New Generation: Neill Blomkamp, District 9

Douglas E Edwards Independent/ExperimentalFilm/Video: C W Winter and Anders Edstrom, The Anchorage