Newcomers caused a few surprises at the ninth British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs) in London Wednesday night, with Red Road's Tony Curran and Kate Dickie taking the best acting prizes over more established names including Peter O'Toole and Helen Mirren.

No single film swept the top honours -- Shane Meadows' This Is England won Best British Independent Film, while Kevin Macdonald won Best Director for The Last King Of Scotland. Both had backing from Film4.

Best Supporting Actor/Actress went to Leslie Phillips for Roger Michell's Venus. Most Promising Newcomer went to young first-time actor Thomas Turgoose, who leads the cast of This Is England. For a newcomer behind the camera, Kidulthood's Menhaj Huda won the the Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director.

Best Foreign Independent Film was Michael Haneke's Hidden (Cache).

The Queen had led BIFA nominations with seven mentions, but walked away with only the screenplay prize for writer Peter Morgan.

This year's BIFA jury, which is chaired by Sandy Lieberson, consists of Reuben Barnes, Martin Childs, Anne V Coates, Alan Cumming, Leo Davis, Anna Friel, Jason Isaacs, Mick Jones, Damian Lewis, Helen McCrory, Damien O'Donnell, Kelly Reilly, Martin Sherman and Colin Salmon.

They gave a special jury prize to Ken Loach, whose Cannes winner The Wind That Shakes the Barley didn't cash in on any of its four nominations.

The full list of winners:

Best British Independent Film
This Is England

Best Director
Kevin Macdonald - The Last King Of Scotland

Best Actor
Tony Curran -

Red Road

Best Actress
Kate Dickie -

Red Road

Best Supporting Actor/Actress
Leslie Phillips - Venus

Most Promising Newcomer (On Screen)
Thomas Turgoose - This Is England

Best Screenplay
Peter Morgan - The Queen

Best Foreign Independent Film
Hidden (Cache)

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)
Menhaj Huda - Kidulthood

Best British Documentary
The Road To Guantanamo

Best Technical Achievement
Anthony Dod Mantle - Cinematography - The Last King Of Scotland

Best Achievement In Production
London To Brighton

Best British Short

The Raindance Award
The Ballad Of AJ Weberman

Best 15-Second Short
What's The Point'

The Variety UK Film Achievement Award
Helen Mirren

The Richard Harris Award (Outstanding Contribution To British Film By An Actor)
Jim Broadbent

The Special Jury Prize
Ken Loach