The Tracker, produced by Julie Ryan and the film's writer/director Rolf de Heer, has again taken top honours on its home soil.

A week after winning the best film prize at the Film Critics Circle Awards, it won best film at the annual IF Awards, which were broadcast live on SBS Television.

The film's lead, David Gulpilil, who lives in an isolated Aboriginal community for most of the year, also won best actor and the living legend award.

The best director award went to Ivan Sen for his debut film Beneath Clouds and Roger Monk was again acknowledged for his script of Walking On Water. Everlyn Sampi won best actress for her first on-screen appearance in Rabbit-Proof Fence.

The best unproduced screenplay award went to Lucien Savron for a feature titled Still Holding and Anthony Hayes, who wrote, directed and starred in the 45-minute drama New Skin, took home the rising talent award. The award for box office achievement went to Lantana.

The IF Awards are a spin-off from a local film magazine and are dubbed the people's choice award because they are decided via Internet and festival voting. This year over 40,000 people voted.