Commemorative effort 11-09-01 will inaugurate the official section of Spain's 47th annual Valladolid International Film Festival (Oct 25-Nov 2).

The compilation of short films from eleven renowned directors about the aftermath of last year's September 11 terrorist attacks will screen out of competition in the official section, which features another nineteen mostly European titles.

Of those, fourteen will compete for the festival's top awards, the values of which have risen this year to Euros 35,000 for the Golden Spike award and Euros 17,500 for the Silver Spike. The funds are given to the Spanish distributors of the winning films. The Best New Director prize comes with a purse of Euros 15,000.

Charlie Chaplin's classic 1940 film The Great Dictator will close the official section, which includes the following titles:

Don Quijote Knight Errant (El Caballero Don Quijote), Manuel Gutiérrez Aragón (Sp) - out of competition
The Son (Le Fils), Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne (Belg, Fr)
El Gran Gato, Ventura Pons (Sp) - out of competition
The Blue Room (La Habitacion Azul), Walter Doehner (Mex, Sp)
Grill Point (Halbe Treppe), Andreas Dresen (Ger)
Ken Park, Larry Clark and Ed Lachman (USA, Neth)
The Magdalene Sisters, Peter Mullan (UK, Ire) - out of competition
Marie-Jo And Her Two Lovers (Marie-Jo Et Ses Deux Amours) - Robert Guediguian (Fr)
Nowhere In Africa (Nirgendwo In Afrika), Caroline Link (Ger)
Rachida, Yamina Bachir (Arg, Fr)
Resurrection (Resurrezione), Paolo and Vittorio Taviani (It)
Salome, Carlos Saura (Sp) - out of competition
Minor Mishaps (Sma Ulykker), Annette K Oleson (Den)
Sweet Sixteen, Ken Loach (UK, Ger, Sp)
The Tracker, Rolf de Heer (Austr)
The Last Train (El Ultimo Tren), Diego Arsuaga (Uru, Sp, Arg)
No One's Life (La Vida De Nadie), Eduard Cortes (Sp)
Happy Times, Xingfu Shiguang (Ch)

The festival's Meeting Point (Punto de Encuentro) sidebar will also be competitive this year for the first time ever, with public prizes for feature and short films worth, respectively Euros 12,000 and Euros 3,000 for the winning films' producers.

Other sidebars include the short film competition, documentary sections A Time For History, Docs In Europe and Arte: Grand Format, a selection of recent Spanish Cinema, and retrospectives dedicated to Won Kar-Wai, Basilio Martin-Patino, Polish cinema and recent efforts from the UCLA Film School.