Adrienne Shelly's final film Waitress won the narrative competition award and Benjamin Niles' Note By Note: The Making Of Steinway L1037 took the documentary prize as the Sarasota Film Festival closed at the weekend.

Each award carried a $5,000 cash prize for the film-makers. Olivier Meyrou's Beyond Hatred received a special jury prize from the documentary feature jury, and the 2007 Independent Visions Competition Award went to Craig Zobel's Great World Of Sound and Nate Meyer's Pretty In The Face.

In the audience awards, each of which carried a $1,000 prize, Joseph Greco's Canvas took best narrative feature, Robyn Bliley's Circus Rosaire won the documentary award, Sarah Polley's directorial debut Away Form Her took the world cinema prize, and Ray Tintoni's Death To The Tinman won the short film award.

As previously announced, Norman Jewison collected the Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Filmmaking, to IFC President Jonathan Sehring was presented with the Excellence in Producing Award, Michelle Trachtenberg received the Breakthrough Performer Award, and the Heineken Red Star Award was given to debut director Chad Lowe for Beautiful Ohio.

Edward Norton was presented with the 2007 Humanitarian Award, Brian Koppelman won the Excellence in Screenwriting Award, Steve Buscemi received the World Cinema Award, and the Regal Entertainment Group's Career Achievement Award went to Canvas co-stars Marcia Gay Harden and Joe Pantoliano.

The 9th Annual Sarasota Film Festival opened on Apr 13 with THINKFilm's In The Shadow Of The Moon, and closed on Apr 22 with Beautiful Ohio.