The Artist is snubbed in the original screenplay category but Bridesmaids makes the cut. Shame, Martha Marcy May Marlene, Margin Call and Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy were ineligible for consideration because they were not made in compliance with Guild rules.

The nominees for the WGA 2012 awards, which will take place in Los Angeles on Feb 19, are as follows:


50/50, written by Will Reiser;

Bridesmaids (pictured), written by Annie Mumolo and Kristen Wiig;

Midnight In Paris, written by Woody Allen;

Win Win, screenplay by Tom McCarthy, story by Tom McCarthy and Joe Tiboni; and

Young Adult, written by Diablo Cody.


The Descendants, screenplay by Alexander Payne and Nat Faxon and Jim Rash, based on the novel by Kaui Hart Hemming;

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, screenplay by Steven Zaillian, based on the novel by Stieg Larsson;

The Help, screenplay by Tate Taylor, based on the novel by Kathryn Stockett;

Hugo, screenplay by John Logan, based on the book The Invention Of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick; and

Moneyball, screenplay by Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin, story by Stan Chervin, based on the book by Michael Lewis.


Better This World, written by Katie Galloway and Kelly Duane de la Vega

If A Tree Falls: A Story Of The Earth Liberation Front, written by Marshall Curry and Matthew Hamachek;

Nostalgia For The Light, written by Patricio Guzmán;

Pina, screenplay by Wim Wenders;

Position Among The Stars, script by Hetty Naaijkens-Retel Helmrich, Leonard Retel Helmrich; and

Senna, written by Manish Pandey.