Craig Zobel's Sundance hit Great World Of Sound earned three nominations yesterday for IFP New York's upcoming 17th Annual Gotham Awards. The comedy is in the running for best feature, best director, and best breakthrough actor for Kene Holliday.

Three films received two nominations each: Day Night Day Night by Julia Loktev (breakthrough director and breakthrough actor); Into The Wild, directed by Sean Penn (best feature and breakthrough actor); and Margot At The Wedding, directed by Noah Baumbach (best feature and best ensemble cast).

All in all 28 films received nominations in the six categories of best feature, documentary, breakthrough director, breakthrough actor, ensemble cast, and film not playing at a theatre near you.

'2007 was an incredibly strong year for independent film,' IFP executive director Michelle Byrd said. 'Ranging from the small gems produced on micro-budgets to extraordinary films from specialty divisions, the nominees all share the type of creative vision and risk-taking that are a hallmark of independent film.'

The 17th Annual Gotham Award nominees are:

Feature: Great World Of Sound; I'm Not There; Into the Wild; Margot At
The Wedding; and The Namesake.

Documentary:The Devil Came On Horseback; Jimmy Carter Man From
Plains; My Kid Could Paint That; Sicko; and Taxi To The Dark Side.

Ensemble Cast: Before the Devil Knows You're Dead; The Last Winter;
Margot At The Wedding; The Savages; and Talk To Me.

Breakthrough Director: Lee Isaac Chung for Munyurangabo; Stephane
Gauger for Owl And The Sparrow; Julia Loktev for Day Night Day Night;
David Von Ancken for Seraphim Falls; and Craig Zobel for Great World
Of Sound.

Breakthrough Actor: Emile Hirsch in Into The Wild; Kene Holliday in
Great World Of Sound; Ellen Page in Juno; Jess Weixler in Teeth; and
Luisa Williams in Day Night Day Night.

Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You: August The First by Lanre
Olabisi; Frownland by Ronald Bronstein; Mississippi Chicken by John
Fiege; and Off The Grid: Life On The Mesa by Jeremy Stulberg and Randy

Gotham tributes will go to: actor Javier Bardem, film critic Roger Ebert, production
designer Mark Friedberg, New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg, director Mira Nair, and IFC Entertainment president Jonathan Sehring.

The awards will be handed out at New York's Steiner Studios on Nov 27.