The late war photographer Tim Hetherington died in April while covering the conflict in Libya.

Overall 178 talent and executives join the ranks of an organisation whose membership has hovered just below 6,000 since 2003.

Organisation rules would have allowed a maximum of 211 new members this year, which means certain committees will not have endorsed every proposed member.

“These individuals are among the best filmmakers working in the industry today,” Academy president Tom Sherak said in a statement. “Their talent and creativity have entertained moviegoers around the world, and I welcome each of them to our ranks.”  

The new recruits include Jennifer Lawrence, Vincent Cassel, Peter Dinklage, Susanne Bier, Universal co-chairperson Donna Langley, River Road founder Bill Pohlad, Legendary Pictures head Thomas Tull, Marvel Studios head Kevin Feige, producers Celine Rattray and Todd Lieberman as well as Iain Cumming Smith and Gareth Unwin from The King’s Speech, and publicists Jill Ann Jones, Susan Ciccone, Mark Markline and Lance Volland, among others.

John Coffey, Risa Gertner and Robert C Rosenthal were named associate members. They are not represented on the board and cannot vote.