Marvel Studios consultant Tom Sherak has been elected as president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences following a meeting of the Board of Governors.

He replaces Sid Ganis, who had served the maximum four consecutive one-year terms in the office. Sherak, who has been governor representing the Executives Branch for seven years, has also served as treasurer of the Academy for the past year. Ganis will now take on the role of immediate past president and will serve on the executive committee.

At the same time, actors branch governor Tom Hanks has been elected first vice president, while producers branch governor Kathleen Kennedy and writers branch governor Phil Robinson were elected to vice presidents posts. Meanwhile, producers branch governor Hawk Koch has been elected treasurer, while Pixar’s John Lasseter, governor of the short films and features animations branch, was elected as secretary. It is the first time Lasseter and Robinson have held officer roles.

Sherak has worked across marketing, distribution and production over more than four decades. He is a former partner at Revolution Studios, where he oversaw the release of films including Black Hawk Down and Anger Managment. Prior to that he was chairman of chairman of Twentieth Century Domestic Film Group and served as senior executive vice president of Fox Filmed Entertainment. He has also been executive vice president of Twentieth Century Fox and president of domestic distribution and marketing for Fox. He began his career in the industry at Paramount Pictures in 1970.