Six new governors, three of them serving for the first time, havebeen elected to represent their branches on the Board of Governors of theAcademy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The newcomers are Rob Epstein, documentary branch; Mark Goldblatt,film editors; and James L Brooks, writers. Returning to the board after a breakare Paul Mazursky, directors; Mark Johnson, producers; and Bill Taylor, visualeffects.

Eight incumbent governors were re-elected. They are: Ed Begley Jr,actors branch; Jeannine Oppewall, art directors; Caleb Deschanel,cinematographers; Tom Sherak, executives, Bruce Broughton, music branch; CherylBoone Isaacs, public relations; Jon Bloom, short films and feature animation;and Kevin O'Connell, sound.

Each of the Academy's 14 branches is represented by threegovernors who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms arestaggered so that each branch elects or re-elects one governor each year.

Governors who were not up for re-election and who continue on theboard are: Kathy Bates and Tom Hanks, actors branch; Rosemary Brandenburg andAlbert Wolsky, art directors; Roger Deakins and Owen Roizman, cinematographers;Curtis Hanson and Alexander Payne, directors; Michael Apted and Freida LeeMock, documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Robert Rehme, executives; Donn Cambernand Tom Rolf, film editors; Charles Bernstein and Arthur Hamilton, music.

The others are: Kathleen Kennedy and Hawk Koch, producers; SidGanis and Marvin Levy, public relations; Carl Bell and John Lasseter, shortfilms and feature animation; J Paul Huntsman and Donald C Rogers, sound; CraigBarron and Jonathan Erland, visual effects; and Fay Kanin and Phil AldenRobinson, writers.