The American Society Of Cinematographers (ASC) has unveiled the five motion picture nominees for the 29th Outstanding Achievement Awards ceremony set for February 15 in Los Angeles.

Emmanuel Lubezki is the frontrunner for Birdman and goes against a talented pool that inlcudes the vastly experienced Roger Deakins for Unbroken.

The nominees are:

Roger Deakins, Unbroken;

Óscar Faura, The Imitation Game;

Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue Of Ignorance);

Dick Pope, Mr. Turner; and

Robert D Yeoman, The Grand Budapest Hotel.

“These nominees represent a fabulous slate selected from a particularly rich field of work this year,” said ASC president Richard Crudo.

“It’s amazing how these cinematographers have once again redefined the boundaries of what we do.”

Deakins has been nominated 12 times before and won for Skyfall (2013), The Shawshank Redemption (1995) and The Man Who Wasn’t There (2002). He received the organisation’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.

Lubezki won the ASC Award last year for Gravity and also won for The Tree Of Life (2012) and Children Of Men (2007). He was nominated for Sleepy Hollow in 2000.

Pope previously earned a nomination for The Illusionist (2007). These are the first nods for Faura and Yeoman.