The 17th Busan International Film Festival (BIFF) has announced its upcoming juries to include filmmakers Bela Tarr and Arturo Ripstein, Toronto fest director Cameron Bailey and Nobel laureate Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clezio.

Bela Tarr will head the New Currents jury of the feature competition for first and second-time Asian filmmakers. The Hungarian director will be joined by French writer and academic Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clezio, Canadian critic and professor David Gilmour, Korean actor Jung Woo-sung and Japanese director Kawase Naomi.

Mexican director Arturo Ripstein will head the Flash Forward jury for new non-Asian filmmakers’ works. Toronto Film Festival co-director Cameron Bailey will join him along with Korean filmmaker Byun Young-Joo, Harvard Film Archive director Haden Guest and Belarusian filmmaker Sergei Loznitsa.

In the Wide Angle section of documentaries, shorts, animations and experimental films, the BIFF Mecenat jury for outstanding documentaries will comprise director of Visions du Réel in Nyon, Luciano Barisone, Korean director Mun Jeong-hyun, and Indian director Supriyo Sen.

The Sonje Award jury for shorts will include Indonesian director Edwin, Korean director Min Yong Keun and Georges Goldenstern, director of the Cannes Film Festival’s Cinéfondation and producer.

Busan will give this year’s Korean Cinema Award to Hayashi Kanako, festival director of Tokyo Filmex and longtime supporter of Korean cinema. BIFF this year runs Oct 4-13.