Palme d’Or winners Joel and Ethan Coen will serve as presidents of the jury for the 68th Festival de Cannes.

The Coens become the first non-solo presidents in Cannes competition history. They have presented nine of their films on the Croisette, winning the 1991 Palme d’Or for Barton Fink and sharing the grand jury prize in 2013 for Inside Llewyn Davis.

“We look forward to returning to Cannes this year,” said the brothers from the set of Hail Caesar!, which they are shooting with George Clooney, Christophe Lambert, Scarlett Johansson, Tilda Swinton, Josh Brolin and Channing Tatum.

“We welcome as always the opportunity to watch movies there from all over the world. Cannes is a festival that has been important to us since the very beginning of our career. Presiding over the jury is a special honour, since we have never heretofore been president of anything. We will issue further proclamations at the appropriate time.”

Joel Coen won the Cannes best director prize for Fargo in 1996 and Barton Fink and tied for the honour in 2001 for The Man Who Wasn’t There with David Lynch for Mulholland Drive. On all three occasions Ethan Coen was uncredited as co-director.

The brothers triumphed at the 2008 Academy Awards for No Country For Old Men, earning the best picture, directing and adapted screenplay statuettes. They also won the 1997 best original screenplay award for Fargo.

2015 marks 120 years since the invention of the Lumière cinematograph by Louis and Auguste Lumière and the Cannes Film Festival will celebrate the work of all “cinema brothers”.

The 68th Cannes Film Festival will take place from May 13-24. Official Selection and jury members will be unveiled in mid-April.