The Cannes Film Festival has announced its selection for this year's Atelier de la Cinefondation.

The programme, created in 2005, aims to help young film-makers bring their projects to fruition.

This third edition of the Atelier has chosen 15 directorial projects from 15 different countries.

During this year's Cannes Festival, the selected directors will endeavour to finalise the financing of their respective films via meetings with industry professionals set up between May 18 and 25.

The directors who have been chosen are a mix of first-timers and old hands. A full list follows:

Argentina - Salamandra by Pablo Aguero (1st feature)

Austria - Serviam by Ruth Mader (2nd feature)

China - Blown By The Typhoon by Ying Liang (3rd feature)

Colombia - The Wind Journeys by Ciro Guerra (2nd feature)

France - De La Guerre by Bertrand Bonello (4th feature)

Italy - Le Quattro Volte by Michelangelo Frammartino (2nd feature)

Kazakhstan - Native Dancer by Guka Omarova (2nd feature)

Lebanon - I Can't Go Home by Khalil Joreige & Joana Hadjithomas (3rd feature)

Morocco - Entre Parentheses by Hicham Falah & Chrif Tribak (1st feature)

Portugal - To Die Like A Man by Joao Pedro Rodrigues (3rd feature)

Romania - A Heart-shaped Balloon by Catalin Mitulescu (2nd feature)

Sri Lanka - Ahasinwitai (The Fallen) by Vimukthi Jayasundara (2nd feature)

Taiwan - Salome by Tsai Ming Liang (9th feature)

Turkey - Milk by Semih Kaplanoglu (4th feature)

USA/Korea - Treeless Mountain by So Yong Kim (2nd feature)