Serbian festival hit receives best regional film award, while the Uruguayan drama wins main international competition at 14th Motovun Film Festival.

The 14th Motovun Film Festival (July 28 – Aug 1) ended with Rodrigo Pla’s The Delay winning the main award of the festival, the Motovun Propeller, out of a competition involving 15 international feature films.

The Bauer Award for the best film from the countries of the former Yugoslavia that had theatrical distribution between June 2011 and June 2012, went to Maja Milos’ Clip [pictured] from Serbia. After the two-round voting process, which includes film critics and experts and a seven-member jury of industry professionals from each of the countries, the other two finalists were Nejc Gazvoda’s A Trip from Slovenia and Branko Schmidt’s Cannibal Vegetarian from Croatia, which previously scooped five Golden Arenas at the country’s national Pula Film Festival.

The FIPRESCI award went to Ruben Ostlund’s Play.

Dutch director Dan Geesin’s Elephant Feet won the best short film award.

This year’s honorary Motovun Maverick award, which celebrates independence and non-conformity, was given to Terence Davies. Previous recepients of the award include Terry Jones, Ken Russell and Ulrich Seidl.