Joel and Ethan Coen's Burn After Reading, Dustin Lance Black's Milk, Woody Allen's Vicky Cristina Barcelona, Tom McCarthy's The Visitor and Robert Siegel's The Wrestler will contest the Writers Guild Of America's original screenplay category.

In the adapted category, the nominees are: Eric Roth's The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button from a story Roth and Robin Swicord based on F Scott Fitzgerald's novella; The Dark Knight by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan from a story by Christopher Nolan and David S Goyer based on Bob Kane's DC Comics creation; Doubt by John Patrick Shanley based on his stage play; Frost/Nixon by Peter Morgan based on his stage play; and Slumdog Millionaire by Simon Beaufoy based on the Novel Q And A by Vikas Swarup.

Best documentary screenplay nominees are: Boogie Man: The Lee Atwater Story written by Stefan Forbes and Noland Walker; Chicago 10 written by Brett Morgen; Fuel written by Johnny O'Hara; Gonzo: The Life And Work Of Dr Hunter S. Thompson written by Alex Gibney from the Words of Hunter S Thompson; and Waltz With Bashir written by Ari Folman.

Feature films eligible for a Writers Guild Award were released in 2008 and produced under the jurisdiction of Writers Guilds of America, East and West or affiliate guilds in Australia, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, and New Zealand. There were 255 films eligible for nomination in the categories of original screenplay (155) and adapted screenplay (100).

Documentaries eligible for a Writers Guild Award featured an on-screen writing credit and were exhibited theatrically in Los Angeles or New York for one week in 2008. While the credited writers of these documentaries were required to join the WGAW's Nonfiction Writers Caucus or WGAE Nonfiction Writers Caucus in order to be considered, scripts need not have been written under WGA jurisdiction to be considered.

The 2009 Writers Guild Awards will be held in Los Angeles on February 7.