Up director Pete Docter will receive the Dallas International Film Festival’s 2010 Texas Avery Animation Award.

Festival organisers also unveiled 12 official selections at the event, which is scheduled to run from April 8-18, including world premieres for Peter Rosen’s documentary A Surprise In Texas, Matthew Leuwyler’s drama The River Why and Neil Truglio’s drama We Are The Sea.

The other selections are Debra Granik’s Sundance Grand jury prize winner Winter’s Bone; Diane Bell’s Sundance winner Obselidia, Ryan Piers Williams’ The Dry Land, Tamra Davis’ Jean-Michel Basquiat: The Radiant Child, and Anthony Burns’ Skateland

Rounding out the initial line-up are Clay Liford’s Earthling, Miranda Bailey’s Greenlit Fatima Geza Abdollahyan’s Kick In Iran, and Don Hahn’s Waking Sleeping Beauty.

Southwest Airlines is taking a major sponsorship position as the film festival’s official airline.