India's Dharm, about a Hindu priest's questioning of his religious belief, and Australia's Lucky Miles, about a group of men who are left stranded in the Australian desert, emerged as joint winners of the bestfilm prizeat the 3rd Asian Festival of 1st Films (AFFF).

Lesley Dyer was on hand to receive the award for the Australian production which also won her and Jo Dyer best producer. The awards ceremony was held at the Raffles Hotel in Singapore last night (Dec 4).

Indian filmmakerKabir Khan was awarded best director for Kabul Express. The Afghanistan-set road movie also won the Purple Orchid Award given by the Foreign Correspondents Association.

Khadak picked up best actor for Batzul Khayankhyarvaa while Tsetsge Byambaa, who was not nominated, received a special citation for best actress.

Best actress went to India's Mamatha Bhukya for her role as a 15-year-old poor girl who aspires to be a Kuchipudi dancer in Vanaja.

The jury panel included multiple award-winning Filipino director Auraeus Solito, Hong Kong actress Josie Ho and Indian director Nagesh Kukunoor.

'Asia's diversity, daily complexities and visually spectacular locations dominated this year's film festival. From the steppes of Mongolia to the depths of the Pacific Ocean, filmmakers struggled to capture the essence of daily life filled with trials and tribulations, sorrow and joy, and did so with great skill,' said festival director Sanjoy Roy of Teamwork Productions.

AFFF is one of the events of the Asia Media Festival, a media fiesta hosted by the Media Development Authority of Singapore (MDA).

Full winners list:

Best Film

Dharm (India)

Lucky Miles (Australia)

Best Producer

Jo Dyer and Lesley Dyer

Lucky Miles (Australia)

Best Director

Kabir Khan

Kabul Express (India)

Best Screenplay

Fen Fen Cheng

Keeping Watch (Taiwan)

Best Actor

Batzul Khayankhyarvaa

Khadak (Mongolia, Germany, Belgium, Netherlands)

Best Actress

Mamatha Bhukya

Vanaja (India)

Special Citation for Best Actress

Tsetsge Byambaa

Khadak (Mongolia, Germany, Belgium, Netherlands)

Best Documentary

The Boy Who Died of Fear (Israel)

Special Citation for Best Anthropological Documentary

The Last Lumberjacks (China)

Best Director of Documentary

Maya Newell

Richard (Australia)

Purple Orchid Award by the Foreign Correspondents Association

Kabul Express (India)