Twelve screenwriters and their projects have been chosen from 160 submitted to participate in next month's European Pitch Point.

Screenwriters from the UK, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Sweden are among the final 12 whose projects were selected from 160 submitted from all over Europe to participate in next year's European Pitch Point (EPP).

According to EPP's organisers, the international jury of German distributor Stephan Hutter of Prokino, No Man's Land producer Cedomir Kolar, Dutch producer Els Vandevorst, the UK's Nik Powell, and Eurimages secretary general Renate Roginas selected "particularly strong and emotional stories" for the 2003 lineup.

The twelve most promising screenwriters and their projects are:

Ronen Abas - The Thread (Netherlands)
Kutlug Aataman - The Coat (Turkey)
Cecile Fraboul - Epepe (France)
Kathrine Haugen - White Trash (Sweden)
Guy Hibbert - Bliss (UK)
Helen Jacey - The Feud (UK)
Nathalie Percillier and Lily Besilly - In The Milk (Germany)
Tom Richards - Talking With Dolphins (Ireland)
Michel Sabbe - Capacocha (Belgium)
Jonathan Sagall - Lippstikka (Israel/Canada)
Annelies Verbeke - Dogdreaming (Belgium)
Jasmila Zbanic - Grbavica (Bosnia-Herzegovina)

After attending preparation workshops in Amsterdam (Jan 3-6) and Berlin (Feb 9), the writers will then present their projects to an audience of producers and commissioning editors in three-minute pitches and "roundtables" at the Talent Campus venue of the House of the World Cultures during the forthcoming Berlinale on February 10.