Five finallists selected from a record 61 entries from 36 countries will compete for the 2010 honorary foreign film award in the Academy Of Motion Picture Arts And Sciences’ 37th Annual Student Academy Awards.

The winning student film-maker will be brought to Los Angeles to join US-based Student Academy Award winners for a week of industry-related activities and social events, culminating in the awards ceremony on June 12 at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

The finallists are (listed alphabetically by film title):

The Confession by Tanel Toom, National Film and Television School, United Kingdom;

Janna & Liv by Therese Ahlbeck, Dramatiska Institutet, Sweden;

The Night Father Christmas Died by Martin Schreier, Filmakademie Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany;

The Road Home by Rahul Gandotra, London Film School, UK; and

Trieste Is Ours by Ziga Virc, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia