Diego Quemada-Diez scoops top prize; Nagraj Manjule wins jury award.

Scroll down for full list of winners

Mexican film A Golden Dream (La Jaula De Oro) scooped the top prize, the Golden Gateway Of India award, in the Mumbai Film Festival’s international competition for first features, while Nagraj Manjule’s Fandry was awarded the Jury Grand Prize.

Directed by Diego Quemada-Diez, who started his career as an assistant to Ken Loach, A Golden Dream (fka The Golden Cage)follows the journey of three young Guatemalans attempting to emigrate to the US. 

The film debuted at Cannes in May where it won the Talent award in the Un Certain Regard section. It recently won the Best International Feature Film at the Zurich Film Festival.

The only Indian film in competition, the Marathi-language Fandry revolves around an “untouchable” or Dalit boy and his love for a girl from a higher caste.

Anthony Chen’s Ilo Ilo continued its successful festival sweep by winning best director and best actress for Yann Yann Yeo.

Best actor went to Vincent Macaigne for his role in Tonnerre, directed by France’s Guillaume Brac.

The jury also gave a special prize for “Best Work in Cinematography” to Australia-Laos-Thailand co-production The Rocket, directed by Kim Mordaunt. Andrew Commis was DoP on the film.

The top honours in the India Gold competition went to documentary Powerless (Katiyabaaz), directed by Farhad Mustafa and Deepti Kakkar, about slum-dwellers putting their lives at risk to steal electricity.

The award marks the first time that a documentary has won a major award at Mumbai film festival.

Qissa – The Tale Of A Lonely Ghost, directed by Anup Singh, won second best film in the India Gold competition, while special mention went to Manju Borah’s A Silent Way (KO:YAD).

Sebastian Lelio’s Gloria, a co-production between Chile and Spain that picked up prizes at the Berlinale in February, won the top prize in Mumbai’s Celebrate Age competition.

The festival attracted some high-profile jury members and filmmakers over the course of the eight days, including Leos Carax, who was the focus of a tribute; Bruce Beresford, who headed the International Competition jury; and Asghar Farhadi, who presided over the jury for India Gold.

The international competition jury also included Deepa Mehta, French actress Nathalie Baye, Indian actress Konkana Sen Sharma and Japanese director-actor Masato Harada, while India Gold jurors included Siddiq Barmak, UK-based director Waris Hussein, Hong Kong International Fil Festival’s Roger Garica and Australian editor Jill Bilcock.

The line-up of 200 films also included the 6th Rendez-Vous With French Cinema, a popular annual event in Mumbai that attracts big audiences.

Francois Ozon’s Young And Beautiful, which opened the section, and Cannes Palme d’Or winner Blue Is The Warmest Colour had both previously been picked up for Indian distribution.

The festival also hosted its first Composers Lab (Oct 21-23), in partnership with the UK’s Abbey Road Studios, during which six aspirising Indian film composers scored a five-minute clip under the watchful eye of mentors such as UK composer Ilan Eshkeri and India’s Amit Trivedi.

On the final day of the Lab, industry experts held a seminar for festival delegates covering the technical and legal aspects of creating music for film.

Organised by the Mumbai Academy of Moving Image (MAMI) and backed by Reliance Entertainment, the festival ran Oct 17-24 and wrapped with a screening of Wikileaks drama The Fifth Estate.



Best film (Golden Gateway of India)
The Golden Cage, dir: Diego Quemada-Diez

Jury Grand Prize (Silver Gateway of India)
Fandry, dir: Nagraj Manjule

Best director
Ilo Ilo (Anthony Chen)

Best actor
Tonnerre (Vincent Macaigne)

Best actress
Ilo Ilo (Yann Yann Yeo)

Best cinematography
The Rocket (Andrew Commis)


Best film
Powerless (Katiyabaaz), dirs: Fahad Mustafa, Deepti Kakkar

Second best film
Qissa – The Tale Of A Lonely Ghost, dir: Anup Singh

Special mention
A Silent Way (KO:YAD), dir: Manju Borah


Best Film
Gloria (Chile-Spain), dir: Sebastian Lelio

Second best film
Good To Go (Slovenia-Croatia), dir: Matevz Luzar

Special Mentions
Arefi The Shepherd (Iran-Germany), dir: Daniel Asad Faezi
Oh How I Long (Palestine), dir: Riyad Deis


Best film
In This City, dir: Keyur Kajavadara S

Second best film
Mumbai Cha Vadapav, dir: Akshay S. Dhanavale

Special jury mentions
Share, dir: Abhiraj Rajadhyaksha
The Handicapped Colony, dir: Sameer Nerkar


The Voice Of The Voiceless (US-Guatemala) – dir, Maximon Monihan

Best Critic
Yavar Ahmed