The 26th edition of the Goteborg International Film Festival, to be held January 14-24, has unveiled its full line-up.

In total 388 films, of which 181 are features or documentaries, will be screened during the event. As reported earlier, Swedish hit director Josef Fares's new action comedy Kops will open the festival.

The main award at the festival is the Nordic Film Award. With its prize purse of $23,000 (SEK200.000), it is the biggest film award in the Nordic region. Eight new films from Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Finland and Iceland will be competing for the award, including Kops, Nicolas Winding Refn's Fear X and Fridrik Thor Fridriksson's Falcons.

A special spotlight section, Asian Hots, is devoted to new films from countries like China, Japan, Taiwan, Sri Lanka, Indonesia and Thailand. Within the section, there will also be a strong focus on Korean productions, where ten films will illustrate the variety of the Korean industry, from blockbusters to quality pictures. Titles include Lee-Chang-Dong's Oasis and Im Kwon-Taek's Chihwaseon.

As usual, the Goteborg festival will screen a great number of French films. This year's programme includes Catherine Breillat's Sex Is Comedy and Claire Denis' Friday Night. There will also be a full retrospective of Robert Guediguian's films, including his latest feature Marie-Jo And Her 2 Lovers.

US titles at this year's festival include Michael Moore's Bowling For Columbine, while Paul Thomas Anderson will visit Goteborg with his Punch Drunk Love.

For the fourth time, Nordic Event at the Goteborg Film Festival will be arranged as a market place for Nordic film production. Together with the five Nordic film institutes and Nordisk Film & TV Fund, the festival will screen 40 new Nordic films for a specially invited audience.

Films competing for the Nordic Film Award

Falcons (Iceland) dir. Fridrik Thor Fridriksson
Falling Sky, aka The Sky Is Falling Down (Norway), dir. Gunnar Vikene
Fear X (Denmark) dir. Nicolas Winding Refn
Kops (Sweden) dir. Josef Fares
Move Me (Denmark) dir. Morten Arnfred
Noi the Albino (Iceland) dir. Dahur Kári Petursson
Raid (Finland) dir. Tapio Piirainen
Sprickorna i muren (Sweden) dir. Jimmy Karlsson