Robert Cary's Ira & Abby won the audience award for best narrative feature, JeffWerner and Susan Koch's Mario's Storytook corresponding documentary honours, and Tomer Heymann's Paper Dolls won the audience award for best international feature atthe Los Angeles Film Festival (LAFF) which finished last night (Sunday).

The award for outstandingperformance in the narrative competition went to the ensemble cast of MikeAkel's Chalk, which includes principalcast members Troy Schremmer, Janelle Schremmer, Shannon Haragan, and ChrisMass.

Gustavo Taretto's Side Walls won best narrative short film, Cedar Sherbert's GestureDown (I Don't Sing) won best documentary short, and Adam Parrish King's TheWraith Of Cobble Hill won the award forbest animated/experimental short film.

The audience award for best shortfilm went to Diego Quemada-Diez's I Want To Be A Pilot. Awards were handed out at the closing night ceremonies onJul 2.

As previously announced at theFestival's Spirit of Independence event on Jun 28, the Target Filmmaker Awardfor best narrative feature went to Steve Collins for Gretchen, while the Target Documentary Award for best documentaryfeature went to Amy Berg for Deliver Us From Evil. Each award carries an unrestricted cash prize of $50,000.

The narrative feature competitionjury comprised Torino Film Festival director Giulia D'Agnolo Vallan, filmmakerDavid Gordon Green, and producer Danielle Renfrew.

The Documentary competition jurywas made up of acquisitions consultant Marie-Therese Guirgis and director AJSchnack.

The event opened on Jun 22 withthe gala screening of David Fenkel's comedy The Devil Wears Prada and closed with by Jonathon Dayton and Valerie Faris' LittleMiss Sunshine. The Centerpiece Premierescreening was Wash Westmoreland and Richard Glatzer's Quinceanera.

George Lucas served as the guestdirector for the festival and hosted the Filmmaker Retreat and programmed asidebar of pictures that inspired his work. Charlize Theron won the Spirit ofIndependence Award.