The sixth annual Jarman Award has announced its shortlist of 10 UK contemporary artists.

They are Ed Atkins, Beatrice Gibson, Emma Hart, Rachel Maclean, Uriel Orlow [pictured], Charlotte Prodger, Hannah Sawtell, Grace Schwindt, John Smith and Jessica Warboys.

Film London and Channel 4 present the award in association with the Whitechapel Gallery. The shortlist is chosen from experts in contemporary film and arts sectors. The chair of the jury to select the winner is headed by Tate Modern film curator Stuart Comer.

The winner will be unveiled on Nov 6 and receivees £10,000 and a commission from Channel 4’s shorts strand Random Acts. Three other artists will be selected for Random Acts commissions as well.

A programme of works by the 10 shortlisted artists will tour the country from Sept 20 to Nov 3.

Previous winners include Luke Fowler, Lindsay Seers and James Richards.

Adrian Wootton, chief executive of Film London and the British Film Commission, said: “The Jarman Award showcases some of the UK’s most interesting artists working with the moving image in the UK and this year’s shortlist is no exception. We are delighted to be presenting its 6th year with our partners Channel 4 and the Whitechapel Gallery.

” The Award is central to Film London’s support of artists’ moving image. This area of work has grown and developed in recent years and we are proud of our role in providing consistent support of the sector, which is underpinned by the investment and vision of our funders Arts Council England.

“The exciting thing about this sector is that it continues to surprise and delight in unexpected ways, and we look forward to seeing it continue to flourish.”