The British Academy of Film and Television Arts hasannounced that Duncan Kenworthy OBE has become its new chairman, succeedingoutgoing chair Michael Attwell after his two year tenure. Attwell will continue to serve the Academyas deputy chair for a further year.

Meanwhile, the elections to decide the British Academy'sCouncil of Management 2004/2005 have now taken place.

Council members serve as directors and trustees of BAFTA, aregistered charity, and carry ultimate responsibility for the activities of theorganisation. They also oversee the Academy's mandate across the three UKNations and Regions Chapters and the two affiliate organisations in the US.

Producer and co-founder of Revolution Films, Andrew Eaton, and Nik Powell,Producer and Director of the National Film & Television School have beennewly elected to join Council. FilmProducer David Parfitt and Founder & Co-Director of The Script FactoryCharlotte Macleod have both been re-elected.

Andy Harries, Controller of Drama, Comedy and Factual Drama at Granada andGareth Neame, Head of Drama Commissioning at the BBC, have been newly electedto join Council. Adam Kemp, BBCCommissioner for Specialist Factual, Arts and Current Affairs, has beenre-elected. The Television CommitteeChair will be elected shortly.

Interactive Entertainment
Sue Thexton, European Vice-President for Macromedia, remains the appointedInteractive Entertainment Committee representative on Council.

Jocelyn Stevenson, Chief Creative Officer at HIT Entertainment, remains theappointed Children's Committee representative on Council.