The Kinotavr Open Russian Film Festival today announced the competition lineup for its 20th edition, including new titles from Euphoria director Ivan Vyrypaev and Kremen director Aleksei Mizgiryov.

Producer Sergey Selyanov (Shultes, Mongol) will chair the jury, which also includes film critic Larisa Malyukova, 12actor Sergey Makovetsky, filmmaker Avdotia Smirnova, Mongol director Sergei Bodrov, cinematographer Mikhail Agranovich, and actress Daria Moroz.

The festival in Sochi opens June 7 with Short Circuit, co-directed by Peter Buslov, Ivan Vyrypaev, Aleksei German, Kirill Serebrennikov, and Boris Khlebnikov. Koshyechka, from director Grigori Konstantinopolsky, will be the closing film on June 14.

Twelve films will compete for the grand prize, including Nikolay Khomeriki’s Tale In The Darkness, screening this year inUn Certain Regard; and Boris Hlebnikov’s Berlinale Forum title Help Gone Mad. With the exception of these two films, all the competition titles are world premieres.

As in past years, the festival will also host panels and discussions on the Russian film industry — an especially hot topic this year. Reports in the Russian press suggest that billions in state aid for film production will not be forthcoming in 2009 or in 2010.

Competition films, 20th Kinotavr Open Russian Film Festival

Buben Baraban (director: Aleksei Mizgiryov)

Bury Me Behind The Baseboard (Sergei Snezhkin)

Europe-Asia (Ivan Dykhovichniy)

Help Gone Mad (Boris Hlebnikov)

Me (Igor Voloshin)

Minnesota (Andrey Proshkin)

Oxygen (Ivan Vyrypaev)

Son (Larisa Sadilova)

Spring Will Soon Be Here (Vera Storozheva)

Tale In The Darkness (Nikolay Khomeriki)

The Unforgiven (Klim Shipenko)

Whirligig (Vasiliy Sigarev)