Wes Anderson’s Fantastic Mr Fox, Jane Campion’s Bright Star and Sam Taylor-Wood’s Nowhere Boy are among the nine contenders for The Times BFI London Film Festival’s inaugural best film award.

The category is rounded out by Michael Haneke’s The White Ribbon, Micmacs by Jean-Pierre Jeunet , Robert Connolly’s Balibo, Jacques Audiard’s A Prophet, John Hillcoat ‘s The Road and A Serious Man by Ethan and Joel Cohen.

The award will be handed out on October 28th at LFF’s first standalone awards event, which will be presented by UK broadcaster Paul Gambaccini. As well as best film, it will also award the best British newcomer for the first time. It will be given to a writer, producer or director making their feature debut at the festival.

The festival’s existing awards - the Sutherland Trophy, for most original and imaginative first feature, and the Grierson Awards for best feature-length documentary – will also be presented that night.

A special statuette called the Star of London has been designed for the winners by acclaimed British sculptor Almuth Tebbenhoff.

Two British Film Institute fellowships will also be given out at the prize ceremony: to actor John Hurt and to African director Souleymane Cissé.

LFF has also revealed the juries for this year’s awards. Hollywood star Anjelica Huston has joined the best film category alongside director Iain Softely, actress Charlotte Rampling, singer Jarvis Cocker and director, writer and actor Mathieu Kassovitz.

The jury for the Sutherland Trophy will comprise producer and actora David Parfitt, actress Kerry Fox, writer and director Paul Greengrass, writer and TV director Edgar Wright, film-maker Matt Bochenski, artist Gillian Wearing, Sara Frain, managing director of UK distributior Metrodome and Mark Cosgrove.

The Grierson Aweard will be judged by documentary-makers Nick Broomfield, Molly Dineen, Christo Hird and Ellen Fleming, who sits on the Grierson Trust board.

While, the best British newcomer award will be decided by Film4 chief Tessa Ross, Christine Langan, the creative director of BBC Films, film producer and financier Lenny Crooks and Harry Potter producer Tanya Seghatchian.

“I’m thrilled to be presenting the first standalone London Film Festival Awards.  The best film festival is now old enough for its own awards ceremony.  So am I.  I hope we make a great team,” said veteran DJ Paul Gambaccini.

The LFF runs October 14 – 29.

Awards Shortlists 2009

Balibo (Australia)
Dir: Robert Connolly

Bright Star
Dir: Jane Campion

Fantastic Mr. Fox (UK)
Dir: Wes Anderson

Dir: Jean-Pierre Jeunet

Nowhere Boy (UK)
Dir: Sam Taylor Wood

A Prophet
Dir: Jacques Audiard

The Road
Dir: John Hillcoat

A Serious Man
Dir: Ethan Coen, Joel Coen

The White Ribbon
Dir: Michael Haneke

Dirs: Scandar Copti, Yaron Shani  
Bunny And The Bull (UK)
Dir: Paul King    

Cold Souls (US/France)
Dir: Sophie Barthes
Eyes Wide Open
Dir: Haim Tabakman

Dir: Samuel Maoz
Dir: Tarik Saleh

Samson & Delilah (Australia)
Dir: Warwick Thornton

Shirley Adams
(South Africa/US)
Dir: Oliver Hermanus
Wah Do Dem (US/Jamaica)
Dir: Sam Fleischner, Ben Chace
Dir: Vasili Sigarev                 

Malcolm Venville - director, 44 Inch Chest 
J Blakeson - director, The Disappearance of Alice Creed 
Jordan Scott - director, Cracks     
Lindy Heymann - director, Kicks

Leigh Campbell - writer,Kicks 
Tom Harper - director, The Scouting Book For Boys    
Jack Thorne - writer, The Scouting Book For Boys                              

45365 (US)
Dirs: Bill Ross, Turner Ross
La Danse: The Paris Opera Ballet (France/US)
Dir: Frederick Wiseman      
Dir: Yoav Shamir  
Have You Heard From Johannesburg: The Bottom Line (US)
Dir: Connie Field
His & Hers (Ireland)
Dir: Ken Wardrop  
Mugabe And The White Afrcian (UK)
Dirs: Lucy Bailey, Andrew Thompson  
Osadne (Slovakia/Czech Republic)
Dir: Marko Škop    

Sergio (US/UK)
Dir: Greg Barker