Local Dutch favourite Sleeping Rough (Tussenland) has won the top prize, the VPRO Tiger award, at the International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR).

The Eugenie Jansen-directed film came in ahead of Wild Bees (Divoke Vcely) by Bohdan Slama from the Czech Republic and Sinisa Dragin's Every Day God Kisses Us On The Mouth (In Fiecare Zi Dumnezeu Ne Saruta Pe Gura) from Romania.

The Canal Plus Audience award, unveiled on Saturday (Feb 1), went to Danis Tanovic's black comedy No Man's Land, which started its glittering festival career in Cannes last year.

The Euros 10,000 Tiger prizes come with the added bonuses of guaranteed local Dutch distribution and a TV sale to broadcaster VPRO.

The awards ceremony on Friday night (Jan 31) wrapped an IFFR marked as usual by a huge diversity of films screening and at the project stage in the Cinemart.

Co-directors Simon Field and Sandra den Hamer said : "The festival has proved again to be a place of discovery, reflecting what is going on in cinema now. This year's programme was regarded as particularly strong because of the combination of its special themes and discoveries made among the VPRO Tiger Award-competitors and the Hubert Bals Fund supported films, for example Japan (Japon) by Carlos Reygadas (Mexico). This is reflected in the fact that Cannes and New Directors/New Films (New York), among other festivals, look very likely to be picking up titles premiered in Rotterdam."

The festival racked up 350,000 admissions and a total box office take of Euros 1.1m.

Prize list in full

VPRO Tiger awards
Sleeping Rough (Tussenalnd) by Eugenie Jansen (Netherlands),
Divoke Sláma (Wild Bees) by Bohdan Sláma (Czech Republic)
In Fiecare Zi Dumnezeu Ne Saruta Pe Gura (Everyday God Kisses Us On
The Mouth
) by Sinisa Dragin (Romania).

Mein Bruder Der Vampir (Getting My Brother Laid) by Sven Taddicken (Germany)

Special mention
La Libertad by Lisandro Alonso (Argentina)

KNF (Dutch Critics) Award
Bolivia by Adrián Caetano (Argentina)

The Jury made special mention of the strong Argentine selection in general, including films like Sábado (Saturday) by Juan Villegas (Argentina) and La Libertad by Lisandro Alonso (Argentina), and for the Korean selection among which in particular Go-Yang-I-Rul Boo-Tak-Hae (Take Care Of My Cat) by Jeong Jae-Eun (South Korea).

NETPAC (Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema), Award
Nami (Wave) Dir Okuhara Hiroshi (Japan)

Special mention
Secret Ballot (Raye Makhfi) by Babak Payami (Italy/Iran)

MOVIEZONE Youth Jury award
Fat Girl (A Ma Soeur!) Dir Catherine Breillat (France)

Prince Claus Fund Film Grant
The Photograph by Nan T Achnas and Trix Images Productions (Indonesia).

The Canal+ Audience Award
No Man's Land by Danis Tanovic