The 17th Busan International Film Festival (BIFF) has announced eight films for its Flash Forward competition, including three world premieres and five international premieres.

BIFF’s Flash Forward competition is for first and second features from non-Asian directors. The section previously showcased films from Guido Lombardi (A Criminal Education, 2011), Lisa Langseth (Pure, 2010) and Zaida Bergroth (Last Cowboy Standing, 2009).

This year’s selection includes first features from Russian novelist and screenwriter Vsevolod Bennigsen and former Wim Wenders video operator and award-winning shorts director Wolfgang Dinslage. It also includes the second dramatic feature from former Berlinale competitor Stefano Mordini (Provincia Meccanica), based on a novel by Silvia Avallone.

BIFF is also holding a Special Programme on Mexican film director Arturo Ripstein, who is to head the Flash Forward jury. The fest will screen
The Castle of Purity (1973), Life Sentence (1979), The Realm of Fortune (1986) and The Beginning and the End (1993).

Ripstein will also give a master class and take part in the annual hand-printing events.

Flash Forward 2012 Line-up

(title/country/director/premiere status)  

All Musicians Are Bastards (Estonia) Heleri Saarik - world premiere

Annelie (Germany, Switzerland) Antej Farac - world premiere

The Crack(Columbia, Argentina) Alfonso Acosta - world premiere

Flower Buds(Czech Republic) Zdenek Jirasky - international premiere

Fuer Elise(Germany) Wolfgang Dinslage - international premiere

The Scar(Canada) Jimmy Larouche - international premiere

State of Emergency (Russia) Vsevolod Bennigsen – international premiere

Steel (Italy) Stefano Mordini - international premiere