Mighty Boosh comedian Julian Barratt and Juan of the Dead director Alejandro Brugués lined up for omnibus sequel.

The full line-up of directors taking part in ABCs of Death 2, comprising 26 dark tales, has been announced

The production team has also revealed details for the film’s “26th Director Competition”, which, like the 2012 original, will place one fan-made entry in the finished film.

Unlike the first instalment, the sequel will expand beyond horror directors. Joining the sequel’s roster are Julian Barratt of The Mighty Boosh; Todd Rohal (The Catechism Catalysm); Canada’s Steven Kostanski (Manborg); Cuba’s Alejandro Brugués (Juan of the Dead); UK commercial director Jim Hosking; Japanese monster-maker Hajime Ohata (Henge); and Canadian short film maker Chris Nash (Skinfections).

Previously confirmed filmmakers include:

  • Álex de la Iglesia (Day of the Beast)
  • Rodney Ascher (Room 237)
  • Bill Plympton
  • Erik Matti (On the Job)
  • Kristina Buozyte, Bruno Samper (Vanishing Waves)
  • Sion Sono (Cold Fish)
  • Vincenzo Natali (Splice, Cube)
  • Larry Fessenden (The Last Winter)
  • Marcus Dunstan (The Collection)
  • Julien Maury and Alexandre Bustillo (Livid)
  • E.L. Katz (Cheap Thrills)
  • Jen and Sylvia Soska (American Mary)
  • Aharon Keshales, Navot Papushado (Big Bad Wolves)
  • Julian Gilbey (A Lonely Place to Die)
  • Dennison Ramalho (Love For Mother Only)
  • Lancelot Imasuen
  • Jerome Sable (The Legend of Beaver Dam)
  • Robert Morgan (Bobby Yeah).

The series’ “26th Director Competition” also returns, encouraging filmmakers from all over the world to create their own one-to-three minute segment, with the best being placed in the finished film itself.  Where the original film asked fans to create short “T is for…” films (with the winning segment going to Lee Hardcastle’s “T is for Toilet”), the sequel now switches its competition letter to “M”.

Votes for the competition will be tabulated via social media, as well as a jury, which, along with ABCs of Death 2’s numerous other directors, includes producers Tim League and Ant Timpson, associate producer Ted Geoghegan, Magnolia Pictures president Eamonn Bowles, Entertainment Weekly senior editor Clark Collis, Horror-Movie-A-Day founder and Badass Digest contributor Brian Collins, author Grady Hendrix, and Fangoria managing editor Michael Gingold.

Contestants can visit http://26th.abcsofdeathpart2.com for additional details and to enter their films. Entries must be submitted by midnight on October 31, with the winner announced on December 15, 2013. The competition’s official announcement video can be found at http://vimeo.com/72230989

Magnet is planning a 2014 release of the film. It is produced by Ant Timpson and Tim League, in conjunction with associate producers Todd Brown, Marc Walkow, Mitch Davis, and Ted Geoghegan.