The Act of Killing and Bully among those up for the $66,000 Puma Impact Award, with a jury including Susan Sarandon and Gael Garcia Bernal.

Britdoc have announced the five finalists for the 2013 Puma Impact Award, which “celebrates and supports the documentary film that has made the most significant positive impact on society or the environment” and comes with a prize of $66,000 (€50,000).

All but one are from the US. The titles include:

  • The Act of Killing (Denmark) Joshua Oppenheimer
  • Bully (US) Lee Hirsch
  • Give Up Tomorrow (US) Michael Collins
  • The Interrupters (US) Steve James
  • The Invisible War (US) Kirby Dick

All of the projects have prompted “remarkable and measurable change”, according to Britdoc, which will be assessed by a jury led by activist and actress Susan Sarandon, actor and director Gael Garcia Bernal and Ricken Patel, founding president and executive director of the world’s largest online activist community, Avaaz.

“Be under no illusion: the tenacity, commitment and perseverance of the compassionate few can change the world,” said Sarandon. “The work of these five filmmakers is testament to that.”

The winning film will be announced at the PUMA Impact Award Celebration in New York on Nov 13, 2013.