Shanghai International Film Festival unveils 2016 line-up.

Cold War 2

Scroll down for full list of awards

Longman Leung and Sunny Luk’s Cold War 2 [pictured], the sequel to Edko Films’ hit 2012 action thriller, will open this year’s Shanghai International Film Festival (June 11-19).

Meanwhile, Werner Herzog’s Salt And Fire, Bruce Beresford’s Mr Church and Cao Baoping’s Coke And Bull are among the films selected for the Golden Goblet Awards (see full list below).

As previously announced the competition jury is headed by Emir Kusturica and also includes Atom Egoyan, Daniele Luchetti, African filmmaker Abderrahmane Sissako (Timbuktu), Tibetan filmmaker Pema Tseden (Tharlo), Hong Kong actress Karena Lam and Chinese writer Yan Geling.

Japanese filmmaker Kazuo Hara will oversee a separate jury for documentaries, while Swiss animation director George Schwizgebel heads the jury for animated films.

SIFF also unveiled nominations in six categories for the Asian New Talent Awards, which has a jury headed by Hong Kong filmmaker Derek Yee (see nominations below).

Among other highlights, SIFF is working with the British Film Institute and British Council to present ‘Shakespeare On Film’, a series of adaptations of Shakespeare’s works, celebrating the anniversary of 400 years of his death.

Other sections include a Panorama of Oscar-winning films, including Spotlight, The Big Short and The Danish Girl, tributes to Luchino Visconti, Andrei Tarkovsky and Woody Allen, and a retrspective of the work of late Hong Kong star Leslie Cheung.

Jackie Chan Action Movie Week returns with screenings of action films including Veteran, Sicario, Bus 657 and The Bodyguard.

Stars expected on the red carpet at the Shanghai Grand Theatre on June 11 include Ian McKellen, Bradley Cooper, Elizabeth Banks, Ang Lee, Wong Kar Wai and Jackie Chan.


  • Coke And Bull, dir: Cao Baoping
  • De Lan, dir: Liu Jie
  • Flowers Of Evil, dir: Antti Jokinen
  • Forest, 4am, dir: Jan Jakub Kolski
  • Hanna’s Sleeping Dogs, dir: Andreas Gruber
  • Hamog, dir: Ralston Jover
  • Hear The Silence, dir: Ed Ehrenberg
  • In Embryo, dir: Ulrich Thomsen
  • Mr. Church, dir: Bruce Beresford
  • The Projects, dir: Sakamoto Junji
  • Salt And Fire, dir: Werner Herzog
  • See You In Texas, dir: Vito Palmieri
  • Soul On A String, dir: Zhang Yang
  • Sound And Fury, dir: Hooman Seyadi

Documentary Film Finalists

  • The Girl Who Saved My Life, dir: Hogir Hirori
  • Mr. Gaga, dir: Tomer Heymann
  • Roof Of The World, dir: Cang Hairuo
  • We Are X, dir: Stephen Kijak
  • When Two Worlds Collide, dir: Heidi Brandenburg, Mathew Orzel

Animated Film Finalists

  • April And The Extraordinary World, dir: Christian Desmares, Franck Ekinci
  • Molly Monster, dir: Ted Sieger
  • Pat And Mat, dir: Marek Benes
  • Rock Dog, dir:  Ash Brannon
  • Yokai Watch, dir: Takahashi Shigeruharu


Best Picture

  • Thithi (India)
  • One Night Only (China)
  • Hana’s Miso Soup (Japan)
  • Land Of The Little People (Israel)
  • Detective Chinatown (China)

Best Director

  • Thithi, written and directed by Raam Reddy
  • Lost Daughter, directed by Yu Ji CHEN
  • Land Of The Little People, written and directed by Yaniv Berman
  • When Larry Met Mary, directed by Zhang WEN
  • My Heart Leaps Up, directed by Ziwei LIU

Best Screenplay

  • Absurd Accident, written by Yuhe LI
  • Land Of The Little People, written and directed by Yaniv Berman
  • Thithi, written and directed by Raam Reddy
  • What’s In The Darkness, written and directed by Yichun WANG
  • Detective Chinatown, written by Sicheng CHEN

Best Cinematography

  • Coldness (Hamid Mehrafrouz)
  • Nirvana (Shan HE)
  • The Island Funeral (Puttinpong Aroonpheng)
  • Land Of The Little People (Rami Katzav)
  • The World Of Us (Jun-wo MIN and Ji-hyu KIM)

Best Actress

  • Nasrin Moradi (Coldness)
  • Xiaotong SU (What’s In The Darkness)
  • Yi SUN (
  • Zijun LIN (Lost Daughter)
  • Soo-in CHOI (The World Of Us)

Best Actor

  • Yuto Nakajima (Pink And Grey)
  • Daizhen YING (
  • Hao Ran LIU (Detective Chinatown)
  • Sadra Daneshvar (Coldness)
  • Qin Yong (Nirvana)