dune c warner bros

Source: Warner Bros


Dune and Belfast are in the running for the feature film prize at the American Society Of Cinematographer’s 36th ASC Awards as Ari Wegner became only the second woman to be nominated by the guild for her work on The Power Of The Dog.

Greig Fraser is recognised for Dune, Haris Zambarloukos for Belfast, Wegner for The Power Of The Dog, Bruno Delbonnel for The Tragedy Of Macbeth, and Dan Laustsen for Nightmare Alley. Rachel Morrison was the trailblazer for female cinematographers when she earned an ASC nomination for Mudbound in 2018.

Tuesday’s (25) announcement marks Delbonnel’s fifth ASC nomination, the second for Fraser and Laustsen, and the first for Wegner and Zambarloukos. The ASC is a fairy reliable Oscar bellwether and its feature film winners have gone on to claim the Academy Award for cinematography in six out of the last 10 years, as Erik Messerschmidt did last season for Mank.

Spotlight nominees comprise Ruben Impens for Titane, Pat Scola for Pig, and Adolpho Veloso for Jockey, while the documentary category recognises Jessica Beshir for Faya Dayi, Isabel Bethencourt and Parker Hill for Cusp, and Daniel Schönauer for The Hidden Life Of Trees.

The awards ceremony is set to take place on March 20 in Los Angeles with restricted in-person attendance.