Amos Gitai [pictured], Michael Smiley and Lenora Crichlow among the judges at this year’s festival.

Edinburgh International Film Festival (EIFF) has announced this year’s juries.

Amos Gitai will chair the jury for the Michael Powell Award Competition for Best British Feature Film, with Nina Hoss and Michael Smiley also on the jury. The award carries a cash prize of £20,000 and the jury will also select the award for Best Performance in a British feature film.

The jury for Best International Feature Film Competition (£10,000) includes Niki Karimi (chair), Michael Fitzgerald and Mark Rabinowitz, while the Best Documentary Feature Film Competition (£10,000 and supported by Al Jazeera) will be chaired by Cynthia Beatt alongside Dominique Auvray and Sunmin Park.

Linda Ruth Williams will chair the jury for the Short Film Competition (supported by Virgin Atlantic) along with Lenora Crichlow and Nicole Gerhards.

Now in its third year, the Student Critics Jury programme will see seven aspiring film critics work under the guidance of Jonathan Rosenbaum, Dana Linssen and Derek Malcolm.

EIFF artistic director Chris Fujiwara commented: “The experience and discernment of our juries are crucial in helping our Festival play a meaningful role in encouraging exceptional filmmaking.

“We’re excited about the quality of the work in all our competitions this year, and we’re honoured to have such distinguished jury members come to Edinburgh to judge this work.”

The EIFF awards ceremony is open to the public and takes place on June 27 at Filmhouse. All of the awards will be announced at the ceremony, with the exception of the Audience Award which will be unveiled at the Closing Gala on June 29.