Per Fly’s biopic leads Swedish film award nominations with 11 nods, followed by Shed No Tears, The Reunion and Hotell.

Scroll down for full nominations

Waltz With Monica (Monica Z), from Danish director Per Fly, leads the race for the Guldbagge (Golden Beetle) – the Swedish national film awards, now in its 50th year – with 11 nominations.

The story of legendary Swedish singer-actress Monica Zetterlund stars Edda Magnason in her first film role.

The biopic has been nominated for best film, best director, best cinematography and best actress for Magnason. Its other nominations include two of the three slots in the best supporting actor category for Kjell Bergqvist and Sverrir Gudnason.

Shed No Tears (Känn ingen sorg), about a man who dreams of success in the music world, has secured nine nominations. The film is directed by Måns Mårlind and Björn Stein, back from Hollywood after directing action sequel Underworld: Awakening.

The duo have been nominated for best director and their feature picked up nods for best film, screenplay, cinematography, editing, costume, sound and set design. Josefin Neldén was also nominated for her supporting role in the film.

Anna Odell’s debut film The Reunion (Återträffen) and Lisa Langseth’s new film Hotell both received four nods.

The best foreign language film category includes Steve McQueen’s 12 Years a Slave, Abdellatif Kechiche’s Palme d’Or winner Blue Is the Warmest Colour, and Béla Tarr’s The Turin Horse.

A jury of 45 members voted in a secret ballot for the nominations.

Other awards will include the award of honour as well as the Gullspira (for extraordinary contributions in films for children) and the audience award.

The Guldbagge Awards ceremony will be held on Jan 20 at Cirkus in Stockholm. Swedish Television (SVT) will broadcast the event live.

Full list of nominations

Best Film

  • The Reunion (Återträffen)
  • Shed No Tears (Känn ingen sorg)
  • Waltz for Monica (Monica Z)

Best Short Film

  • Eating Lunch (Äta lunch), dir. Sanna Lenken
  • Me Seal, Baby, dir. Joanna Rytel
  • On Suffocation, dir. Jenifer Malmqvist

Best Documentary Film

  • Belleville Baby, dir. Mia Engberg
  • Forest of the Dancing Spirits (De dansande andarnas skog), dir. Linda Västrik
  • No Burqas Behind Bars (Frihet bakom galler), dir. Nima Sarvestani

Best Director

  • Per Fly, Waltz for Monica
  • Måns Mårlind och Björn Stein, Shed No Tears
  • Anna Odell, The Reunion

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • Edda Magnason, Waltz for Monica
  • Anna Odell, The Reunion
  • Gunilla Röör, Once a Year (En gång om året)

Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • Robert Gustafsson, The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared (Hundraåringen som klev ut genom fönstret och försvann)
  • Mikael Persbrandt, Nobody Owns Me (Mig äger ingen)
  • Matias Varela, Life Deluxe (Snabba cash – Livet deluxe)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Anna Bjelkerud, Hotell
  • Mira Eklund, Hotell
  • Josefin Neldén, Shed No Tears

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Kjell Bergqvist, Waltz for Monica
  • David Dencik, Hotell
  • Sverrir Gudnason, Waltz for Monica

Best Screenplay

  • Cilla Jackert, Shed No Tears
  • Lisa Langseth, Hotell
  • Anna Odell, The Reunion

Best Cinematography

  • Eric Kress, Waltz for Monica
  • Petrus Sjövik, Broken Hill Blues (Ömheten)
  • Erik Sohlström, Shed No Tears

Best Editing

  • Mia Engberg, Belleville Baby
  • Theis Schmidt, Life Deluxe
  • Håkan Wärn, Shed No Tears

Best Costume

  • Kicki Ilander, Waltz for Monica
  • Moa Li Lemhagen Schalin, We Are the Best!
  • Ulrika Sjölin, Shed No Tears

Best Sound

  • Mattias Eklund, Shed No Tears
  • Petter Fladeby, Andreas Franck och Jens Johansson, Life Deluxe
  • Hans Møller, Waltz for Monica

Best Makeup

  • Eva von Bahr, Waltz for Monica
  • Eva von Bahr och Love Larson, The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared
  • Lisa Mustafa, We Are the Best!

Best Music

  • Matti Bye, Sanctuary (Faro)
  • Matti Bye, The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared
  • Peter Nordahl, Waltz for Monica

Best Set Design

  • Paola Holmér och Linda Janson, We Are the Best!
  • Wilda Wiholm, Shed No Tears
  • Josefin Åsberg, Waltz for Monica

Best Foreign Language Film

  • 12 Years a Slave, Steve McQueen
  • Blue Is the Warmest Color, Abdellatif Kechiche
  • The Turin Horse, Béla Tarr