Finnish Oscar submission, Purge, wins five in Helsinki.

Purge (Puhdistus), an adaptation of Sofi Oksinen’s novel directed by Antti Jokinen, won five awards at the Jussi Awards in Helsinki yesterday (Feb 3).

Awards were handed to Laura Bim to and Liisi Tandefelt for best actress and best supporting actress respectively; best cinematography for Rauno Ronkainen; best sound design for Kirka Sainio; and best make-up for the work of Riikka Virtanen.

The film, which took 209,000 domestic admissions, was selected as the Finnish entry for the Best Foreign Language Oscar at the 85th Academy Awards but did not make the final shortlist.

Maarit Lalli’s feature debut Almost 18 (Kohta 18) left with three Jussis in the major categories for best film, director and original screenplay, when the Filmauri association of film professionals presented the national film prizes.

Aku Louhimies’s Naked Harbour (Vuosaari) received eight nominations but walked away empty-handed.

Anneli Sauli, the 80-year-old Finnish actress who has been in 57 domestic productions including Aki Kurismäki’s The Man without a Past (Mies vailla menneisyyttää/2002) and the more recent Heartbeats (Kohtaamisia/2009), was awarded a Concrete Jussi for lifetime achievement.


Best Film
Almost 18 (Kohta 18).
Prod: Maarit Lalli

Best Director
Maarit Lalli, for Almost 18

Best Actor
Eero Ritala, for Fanatics (Kulman pojat)

Best Actress
Laura Birn, for Purge (Puhdistus)

Best Supporting Actor
Santtu Karvonen, for Gloriously Wasted (Juoppohullun päiväkirja)

Best Supporting Actress
Liisi Tandefelt, for Purge  

Best Original Screenplay
Maarit Lalli, Henrik Mäki-Tanila, for Almost 18

Best Cinematography
Rauno Ronkainen, for Purge

Best Musical Score
Karsten Fundal, for Canned Dreams (Säilöttyjä unelmia)

Best Sound Design
Kirka Sainio, for Purge  

Best Editing
Riitta Poikselkä, for The Punk Syndrome (Kovasikajuttu)  

Best Set Design
Ulrika von Vegesack, for Iron Sky

Best Costume Design
Tiina Wilén, for Miss Blue Jeans (Miss Farkku-Suomi

Best Make-Up
Riikka Virtanen, for Purge

Best Documentary
The Punk Syndrome.
Dirs:  Jukka Kärkkäinen, J-P Passi

Audience Award
Nightmare (Painajainen merellä). Dir: Marko Äijö