Other winners at Danish critics’ 64th annual awards include Susanne Bier’s In A Better World and Thomas Vinterberg’s Submarino.

Danish directors Tobias Lindholm and Michael Noer’s low-budget prison drama, R, followed up on its Danish Film Academy win, as it was also honoured by the Danish film critics at their 64th annual Bodil prizes.

While bagging eight of the Academy’s Roberts, R returned from the Bodil ceremony at Copenhagen’s Bremen with stauettes for Best Film and Best Actor (Pilou Asbæk). The Nordisk Film production took 33,000 admissions domestically.

Besides being honoured for his feature debut, Lindholm received a Special Bodil not only for having co-written the script for R, but also for his work on the screenplay for Thomas Vinterberg’s Submarino, which otherwise won for Best Supporting Actress (Patricia Schumann).

Danish 82-year-old veteran actor Henning Moritzen was given an Honorary Bodil not only for Lifetime Achievement – his first film role was in 1950 – but also for his collaboration with new directors, such as Vinterberg (The Celebration).

Full list of Denmark’s 2010 Bodil Awards:

Best Film: R, dirs: Tobias Lindholm, Michael Noer. Prod: Nordisk Film

Best Actor: Pilou Asbæk, for R

Best Actress: Trine Dyrholm, for In a Better World  (Hævnen, dir: Susanne Bier)

Best Supporting Actor: Kurt Ravn for Nothing’s All Bad (Smukke Mennesker, dir: Michael Munch-Fals)

Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Schumann, for Submarino, dir: Thomas Vinterberg

Best Cinematograhpy: Armadillo, dir: Janus Metz Pedersen

Best US Feature: A Single Man, dir: Tom Ford (UK). Local distr: SF Film/Filmcompagniet

Best Non-US Feature: The White Ribbon (Das weiße Band). Dir: Michael Haneke. Local distr: Camera Film

Best Documentary: Armadillo


Special Bodil: Tobias Lindholm, for co-writing R and Submarino


Honorary Bodil: Actor Henning Moritzen