The winners of the 2008 Rio International Film Festival were announced tonight at the closing award ceremony at Odeon theatre.

The Premiere Brasil's best film prize, known as the Redentor award, was given to Se Nada Mais Der Certo (Should Nothing Else Work Out), directed by Jose Eduardo Belmonte. One of the world premieres of the festival, the film follows the struggle of an unemployed and broke journalist who lives with a depressive single mother, a performance that gave Caroline Abras the best actress award.

Matheus Nachtergaele who had his A Festa Da Menina Morta (The Dead Girl's Feast) selected for Cannes Un Certain Regard this year received the best director award for this tale of a mysterious 'saint' set in a remote village in the Amazon. The drama that marks Nachtergaele's directorial debut also gave the best actor prize to Daniel de Oliveira.

The first time director Matheus Souza, who is 19 years old, received a Special Mention from the jury, besides the best audience award for Apenas o Fim (That`s It), a love story about a young couple about to break up.

This year over 350 films were screened from 60 countries at over 30 different venues across Rio. Premiere Brasil had 18 features (8 fiction films and 10 documentaries) besides 15 shorts.

The jury was headed by Berlin Panorama director Wieland Speck and included the Argentinian producer and screenwriter Lita Stantic, the Brazilian actress Camila Pitanga and the Brazilin director and screenwriter Jorge Duran.

The winners:
Best film: Se Nada Mais Der Certo Jose Eduardo Belmonte
Best director: Matheus Nachtergaele A Festa Da Menina Morta
Best actor: Daniel de Oliveira A Festa Da Menina Morta
Best actress: Caroline Abras Se Nada Mais Der Certo
Best documentary: Estrada Real Da Cachaça Pedro Urano
Best director in documentary: Helena Solberg Palavra (En)cantada
Special Jury Prize: Jards Macale - Um Morcego Na Porta Principal Marco Abujamra
Special mention: Apenas o Fim Matheus Souza
Best short (fiction): Blackout Daniel Rezende
Best short (documentary): 69 - Praça da Luz Carolina Markowicz, Joana Galvão
Audience award (fiction): Apenas o Fim Matheus Souza
Audience award (documentary): Loki, Arnaldo Baptista Paulo Henrique Fontenelle
Audience award (short): Urubus têm asas Andre Rangel & Marcos Negrão