“Q” Kaushik Mukherjee won the best new director grand jury prize as the 37th Seattle International Film Festival came to a close on Sunday [12].

Best documentary grand jury prize went to Susan Saladoff for Hot Coffee and the SIFF 2011 FIPRESCI Prize for Best New American Film went to Andrew Okpeaha MacLean for On The Ice [pictured].

In the audience awards, Emilio Aragon’s Paper Birds won the Best Film Golden Space Needle and Roland Legiardi-Laura, Amy Sultan, Deborah Shaffer, Edwin Martinez’s To Be Heard took the documentary prize.

“I’m gratified that Seattle audiences continue to embrace the Festival’s wide-ranging selection of films from around the world proving that Seattle filmgoers see more films per capita than any other city in the nation,” SIFF artistic director Carl Spence said. “For the second year in a row, we have surpassed one million dollars in ticket sales making this another record-setting year.”

More than 450 films screened over the course of the festival from May 19-Jun 12. For more details visit the official website.