The Berlin International Film Festival has named the seven members of its main competition jury, which will be chaired by Oscar winning actress Frances McDormand.

The jury will comprise:

Maji-da Abdi (Ethiopia)
Maji-da Abdi's directing credits includeThe River that Divides (2001), which tells of the war experiences of Ethiopian women. Her producer credits include Heremakono by Abderrahmane Sissako from Mali.

Valeria Bruni Tedeschi (Italy)
Actress Valeria Bruni Tedeschi's credits include Nenette et Boni. Last year she made her directorial debut with Il Est Plus Facile Pour Un Chameau ...

Samira Makhmalbaf (Iran)
The 24-year-old Iranian director's debut The Apple (1998) was followed by the Cannes prize-winning films The Blackboard and At Five In The Afternoon.

Frances McDormand (USA) President of the Jury
McDormand won an Oscar for her role in the comedy thriller Fargo in 1997. At this year's Berlinale she appears in the Competition film Something's Gotta Give.

Peter Rommel (Germany)
Rommel producer credits include Night Shapes (1998) and Grill Point (2002), both of which won Silver Bears. Rommel is founding member of the German Film Academy.

Gabriele Salvatores (Italy)
Salvatores won the foreign language film Oscar with Mediterraneo in 1992, and presented political thriller I'm Not Scared in the Berlinale competition last year.

Dan Talbot (USA)
Talbot's New York independent distribution company New Yorker Films helped launch Fassbinder's works in the USA, while as an exhibitor he runs Lincoln Plaza Cinema.

The international jury is charged with awarding the following awards to Berlinale Competition films:

The Golden Bear awarded to the best film (for the producer)
The Jury Grand Prix (Silver Bear)
The Best Director prize (Silver Bear)
The Best Actress prize (Silver Bear)
The Best Actor prize (Silver Bear)
The prize for an artistic contribution (Silver Bear)
The prize for the best film music (Silver Bear)
The Jury also awards the Blue Angel Prize, awarded in tribute to Marlene Dietrich, for the Best European Film and the Alfred Bauer Prize, awarded in memory of the Festival founder, for a work of particular innovation.