Two significant but unrelated film appointments were announced in Sydney today: Fiona Cameron is the new general manager of the Sydney Film Festival and Matthew Liebmann is leaving SKYCITY Cinemas in New Zealand to be the commercial and new business director at Hoyts.

Liebmann has also worked with SKYCITY co-owner Village Roadshow for six years and as director of the entertainment and media practice of PricewaterhouseCoopers, where he was founding author and editor of a report that the accountancy firm now publishes each year on the future outlook for Australia 's entertainment and media sector.

'Matthew brings a deep knowledge of cinema, as well as a thorough understanding of the competing and complementary ways in which people spend their entertainment and leisure time and money,' said Delfin Fernandez, group chief executive officer of Hoyts Corporation.

Hoyts is one of the four biggest brands in Australian exhibition. The company was purchased by Pacific Equity Partners last year from then joint owners, Publishing and Broadcasting Pty Ltd and West Australian Newspapers Holdings.

Cameron's first Sydney Film Festival, alongside executive director and the main artistic force, Clare Stewart, will be the first to include an official competition. The A$60,000 cash prize for 'courageous and audacious' filmmaking will be awarded on June 16. The festival runs from June 4 to 22.

'I am very much looking forward to working with the team to make the Sydney Film Festival more accessible to Sydneysiders and to ensure we set the pace for film festivals around Australia and the world,' Cameron said. She has worked in politics and radio for most of her career but has recently been working in subscription television. She is a board member of the Australian Film, Television and Radio School.

Marketeer Tony Sernack was recently appointed vice president of the SFF board, and managing director of Sony Pictures Releasing, Stephen Basil-Jones, and social media and technology specialist Rob Antulov joined the board in December. The president is Virginia Gordon.